Facebook Unveils New Emojis

Do you "wow" this post?

By Sowmya Krishnamurthy

First it was a poke and now it's a "wow." This week, Facebook unveiled its new emojis as a way to like--or unlike--posts. Facebook users can also choose from "love," "haha," "wow," "sad" and "angry" emojis. The three most popular reactions will be shown on each post.

According to Facebook, it released Reactions so fans can more "easily and quickly express how something you see in News Feed makes you feel." 


Reactions is one of the many new features Facebook is rolling out. Recently, the social media network announced that it was introducing birthday video messages

It seems that Facebook is trying to compete with popular platforms like Twitter and Instagram with these changes. Let's be honest, Reactions is just an edited version of Twitter emojis or the "like" icon. What will be interesting to see is how Facebook users will share these reactions, and whether it'll affect the integrity of the community. For instance, is it acceptable to give someone a "Haha" if they share bad news or post "Sad" if an ex announces his engagement? That may be your true reaction -- but is it well, nice?

Reactions may add a whole new level of trolling behavior to Facebook and we don't "Love" that.

Related Stories
You May Also Like...
Recommended by Zergnet